Writing sheds, learning and inspiring

Brighton Beach Huts by author Sarah Rayner

Brighton Beach Huts by author Sarah Rayner

As some of you will know, alongside my writing and editing I work part-time with KS2 children, supporting literacy across a broad range of abilities. I also run workshops with young adults and lifelong learners. Last week I was introduced to a resource which I think is so wonderful that I wanted to share it.

The Literacy Shed has been developed by a former primary school teacher and has been used to great effect where I work. The site has a menu of sheds to choose from, including the Fairy Tale Shed, the History Shed and the Poetry Shed, each with exercises, ideas and resources. Children love the visual elements: the film clips, adverts and book pages, and I’ve seen some  fabulous stories develop from the exercises.

But it is just for children? For any of you who run workshops or projects with adults and young people it might be worth a look.

The photograph of beach huts (or sheds?) on the Brighton seafront was taken by Sarah Rayner. Sarah’s real job is an author – you can out check out her novels here – though as you can see she takes a mean pic too.

2 thoughts on “Writing sheds, learning and inspiring

  1. I absolutely love youur website.. Pleazsant colors & theme.
    Did you create this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to
    create my own personal site and would like to know where you got
    this from or just what the theme is called.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

