Budget food 80s style, Part 2

floddies!Okay, so I was going to share a Victoria sponge recipe next, but I changed my mind. Another old-fashioned food staple mentioned in Public Battles, Private Wars are FLODDIES. I am utterly useless in the kitchen, so perhaps not the best benchmark, but I’d not even heard of these before I wrote the novel. Cheap, easy to prepare (yes, as part of my research I made them) and brilliant for using up left-overs. And boy, are they delicious.

BACON FLODDIES

A way to use up a small amount of cold, cooked meat. You can also use chicken and turkey.

1 large potato peeled

1 medium onion peeled

1 beaten egg

25g/1 oz self-raising flour

75g/3oz bacon, finely chopped

A pinch of mixed herbs (optional)

Salt and pepper

Oil for frying

  1. Grate potato and onion into a basin
  2. Mix in the egg
  3. Add flour, chopped bacon, herbs and seasoning and mix well
  4. Heat oil in a heavy-based frying pan
  5. Fry tablespoons of the mixture, turning until golden brown both sides.

DEVOUR!

Leave a Reply

