A novel first birthday – and a #Giveaway

public battles draft

Public Battles, Private Wars is one year old today and this small anniversary gives me an opportunity to show my gratitude to all those people who have read, talked about, shared and generally supported my novel. Thank you, it’s been an amazing journey and it’s thanks to you guys.

As authors, it’s easy to lose sight of why we do what we do when we are caught up in the creation of characters, stitching up plot holes and developing theme, and that’s all before we begin the sticky business of publicity and promotion. It is only when a book is out in the big wide reading world that we come out of our self-imposed solitude and make connections with the very people we do this for: that’s you, dear reader, yes, you. The story doesn’t belong to me, the writer, anymore, it belongs to you, to make of it what you will.

Accent Press and I want to show our gratitude and celebrate your involvement with a giveaway. There are two paperback copies of Public Battles, Private Wars up for grabs over at Goodreads, and I will send out one ebook and one signed paperback to readers who make a comment here on the blog before the end of play on the 31st. Please say if you would like an ebook or a paperback. Ginger2, my youngest son, will pull two names out of a hat – or sock, or beaker, or whatever we have handy – once I’ve written names on paper.

So that’s 3 paperbacks and one ebook available – two here, two at Goodsreads. You’ve got till the 31st March. Thank you and Good Luck!

blog 80s 004

 

10 thoughts on “A novel first birthday – and a #Giveaway

  1. Caroline Jenkins says:

    Hello Laura, I really enjoyed reading your book a few months ago, as an ebook. Would be a joy to have it on paperback :)) Looking forward to your next novel too xx

  2. Theresa Stoker says:

    I’d love the paperback. I’ve read the e-book, but I’d like to see the paperback on my bookshelf and be able to pass it around.

  3. Reblogged this on BRIDGET WHELAN writer and commented:
    I bought my copy about a year ago as an ebook but I just couldn’t settle to reading fiction online – non fiction is great but I need the print to follow the complexities of a story. Over on The Independent today Fay Weldon says authors should write two versions of a novel: a fast paced digital one and a more reflective and complex print one. Anyway, this is why I haven’t read Laura Wilkinson’s book yet, but I bit the bullet last week and bought the paperback. I’m looking forward to reading it and you can join me with Laura’s giveaway. I see there are ebooks AND paperbacks on offer, good on her.

  4. glenavailable says:

    Hi Laura,

    Just read some of the reviews on Amazon –

    “I enjoyed the stripped back style of the narrative, and the Yorkshire dialogue made it come to life.” (BOOKWORM)

    “The book is well written, with great characters that literally pop off the page and a story line that had me totally engaged from the first paragraph.
    Highly recommended.” (C.PLUNKETT)

    “It’s a story that will keep you guessing”. (BOOKAHOLIC HOLLY)

    A really enjoyable read. (Helen LLOYD)

    You must be very happy to receive those endorsements. I’ll admit I’m intrigued enough to want to go out and buy a copy of this book from my local bookstore chain here in Brisbane, Australia. I’ll try first though, to win a paperback copy in the comp.

    Many thanks.

    Glen Donaldson
    Down Under

  5. Sue Owen says:

    Fourteen years ago I was made redundant from my job, managing a branch of Waterstones, after nine years and the smell of books is one of the biggest smells I miss. Going into a shop that had been closed and releasing the smell – oh I loved that. I want to recapture that memory in my spare bedroom so I am trying to fill it with books both old and new. Help me!

  6. I loved the characters – nay, PEOPLE – in Public Battles, Private Wars, and so there was a real empathy and tension as the Miners Strike started to bite. Passionate and moving.

Leave a Reply

