Being A Contender by Georgina Troy – RoNA Awards 2016

AJB jpegGeorgina Troy is another author in the Accent Press stable and she was recently honoured with a shortlisting in a prestigious award. She’s been kind enough to pop over and share her story with us. Over to you, Georgina.

I’m one of those people who has delayed reactions. When something good happens to me it takes time for it to dawn on me that it really is happening. When something bad happens, I also take time to react. I’m an optimist at heart but I think that, especially with my writing, when someone is complimentary, or I’m told that my book is being: a) published – I think they must be confusing me with someone else; b) Nominated for the Joan Hessayon Award – that they make all the authors who’ve been signed to a publishing contract finalists that year; c) Contender for the Romantic Novel of the Year Category in the Romance Novel of the Year Awards 2016 – that… well, maybe my book might be okay.

It was a surreal time, discovering that A Jersey Kiss had been nominated when I read the initial congratulatory email in (I believe) December from the Romantic Novelists’ Association and then being congratulated by my publisher and having to keep the news secret until the news embargo was lifted in February. Then there were further emails asking me to complete press release forms, sending author jpegs, being interviewed by the local paper and on BBC Radio Jersey where met another contender who lived in Jersey, Sophie Cousens (Romantic Comedy). It was all go!

Then it was a case of finding something to wear, booking flights and getting tickets for my mum, husband and daughter who were to accompany me, and generally getting very excited. Planes, trains and lots of walking later, I arrived at The Gladstone Library, in Whitehall for the contenders’ photo shoot while my family members went for something to eat before joining me for the award ceremony. I hate having my photo taken, but had fun nonetheless, and tried to smile although I was a little in awe of the entire proceedings. To be nominated in the same category and taking part in a photoshoot with people like Veronica Henry… I mean, Veronica Henry! She’s one of those authors whose books I buy each year when they come out and I know I’m going to enjoy them.

Needless to say it was a fabulous evening meeting up with other RNA members/friends and enjoying the glitzy party. It was enough being nominated, truly.

To celebrate something like this with my mum, daughter and husband was extra special and we all sat at the Accent Press table with my esteemed publisher, Hazel Cushion, and the other two Accent Press contenders – in different categories, thankfully – Jane Jackson (Historical) and Lisa Tenzin-Dolma (YA). It was a fun, exciting and pretty awesome evening and I’m massively grateful that the judges liked A Jersey Kiss enough to choose it to be nominated in such an auspicious award.

So, for any writer out there sitting at their laptop editing, or reading their RNA New Writers’ Scheme reader’s report and feeling disheartened by all the things wrong with their manuscript – as I have many, many times – don’t give up. Dreams really do come true, writerly ones, at least. And this summer I’ve seen my fourth book for Accent Press, A Jersey Bombshell, being published – another truly exciting event.

Blurb:

Gabriel has returned to the island of Jersey after ten years abroad to help his aging showbiz parents revive their failing Art Deco hotel. This proves to be something of a challenge, especially as his singer father and actress mother are more concerned with staying in the limelight than keeping track of the cash-flow. Gabriel isn’t going anywhere fast …

Meanwhile, he’s stunned to find that the hotel’s new receptionist is the girl he fell in love with years earlier in Vietnam, and someone who is tied to Jersey is the last thing she needs …

Author Bio:

Georgina TroyGeorgina Troy lives in Jersey, an island fifteen miles off the coast of France. She’s a hopeless romantic and when Georgina realised that no one else wrote romances set in her island home with its beautiful wind-swept beaches and intriguing inhabitants, she decided she had to provide some. Her books are published by Accent Press.

Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GeorginaTroyAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/georginatroy

Blog: http://georginatroy.blogspot.com/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/georginatroy/

Buying Links:

Amazon.co.ukhttps://www.amazon.co.uk/Jersey-Bombshell-Georgina-Troy-ebook/dp/B01DYDGHDS/

Amazon.com: https://www.amazon.com/Jersey-Bombshell-Georgina-Troy-ebook/dp/B01DYDGHDS/

Good luck with the book, Georgina and thanks for popping by.

 

3 thoughts on “Being A Contender by Georgina Troy – RoNA Awards 2016

Leave a Reply

